Swindon Dolphin and SwimMark 

Formerly called swim21, SwimMark accreditation is Swim England’s quality standard for clubs. It recognises high standards of governance, sustainability and effectiveness.

Any affiliated Swim England club can apply for the accreditation, regardless of your club’s size or the disciplines you deliver.

Gaining accreditation is available to all clubs, across sports – including Masters. It can be gained regardless of your club’s size and the activities you deliver.

What is SwimMark about?
– Creating the best possible swimming experience for all
– Raising the quality of aquatics provision across all areas.
– National Sport England Clubmark recognition for great quality clubs

Achieving SwimMark accreditation also offers national recognition that we provide a quality service for all members, recognised by Sport England, through receiving the Clubmark status.  Clubmark is widely recognised by potential funders, schools and other partners who can assist us with club growth and development.

There are three modules clubs can aspire to: SwimMark Essential Club, SwimMark Network, and SwimMark Performance.

SwimMark Essential Club
This is the primary module for clubs, helping you to achieve good governance, grow membership, develop volunteers and ensure your activity is sustainability and in line with your club objectives. It is accredited every two years.

SwimMark Network
This module encourages clubs to work collaboratively across a localised area. This approach helps athletes to maximise their potential and be retained in the sport. It also increases volunteer opportunities and helps to raise the standards of teaching and coaching.

The Network accreditation lasts for two years and consists of three elements: a development plan, a training needs analysis and a signed terms of reference.

Your club must achieve the SwimMark Essential Club accreditation before it can become a SwimMark Network member.

SwimMark Performance
The Performance module provides a benchmark for clubs coaching and developing high-level athletes across the four sports (swimming, diving, water polo and synchro).

Clubs need to demonstrate that athlete pathways, the physical environment, quality coaching practices and support services are all in place for athletes to reach the pinnacle of their aquatic sport. Performance standards are measured by England Programmes.

Depending on the discipline, there are a range of elements to complete to attain the Performance level. Once achieved, the accreditation will last for two years.

Your club must have achieved SwimMark Essential Club and be actively engaged with a Network to achieve your Performance accreditation.

In March 2018, Swindon Dolphin was awarded SwimMark Essential Club

SwimMark Essential Club is a key module which will support the club to grow membership, develop our volunteers and ensure the sustainability of activity in line with the objectives of the club.

For more information relating to the SwimMark accreditation scheme please visit http://www.swimming.org/swimengland/swimmark-accreditation-for-clubs/

Well done to all those who worked hard to gain new and additional qualifications, improve administration systems and to the swimmers who gained entry into county, regional and national championships, all of which helped to achieve this award.